The Father’s Day

One of my colleagues, Abang Nizam J (we have 2 Nizams here, so that’s how we differ them – by their surname) asked me “When is the father’s day?“, when I thought to slam it with a synical one, which may sound like “As if i’m to celebrate it.“, but instead I just gave a sincere answer – “Every third Sunday of Junes, or June 21st as for this year“.

Yup yup. It’s on every third Sunday of every June of every year, guys. Hard to nail it, ey? Whilst for Mother’s Day, it depends on which country you’re in, which’ll make it every second Sunday of every May in Malaysia – but people just tend to remember that more, or celebrate it merrier. Mother’s Day here, Hari Ibu there, but only few attend to Father’s Day. Why haa?

Maybe it’s because of the nature of a father itself. A father rarely asks anything for himself. I, myself, seldom saw Abah shopped for his own baju raya. Usually, we had to look one for him, otherwise he would just end up with the previous years’ baju raya. Just a simple any colour-any brand XXL with a pelikat will do him good enough. Maybe that’s why the tendancy to neglect the only day to honour them is much greater than missing Anuar Zain’s concert at Istana Budaya, kan?

Well, just don’t, people. Cherish them while they’re still around. Never choose to regret, and only to take note when it’s no use to celebrate the day anymore. They’ve done soooo much for us, so there ain’t any harm if we just repay them with some texts and calls, rite? Or yup, a bouquet of roses or a bar of hazelnut choc will be definitely sweeter. For sure. Trust me.

As for me – no roses, no choc bars, not even texts and calls. Only doa.

Happy Father’s Day, Abah. Miss you. So much.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Looking from a window above
it’s like a story of love
can you hear me
came back only yesterday
we’re moving farther away
want you near me

All I needed was the love you gave
all I needed for another day
and all I ever knew
only you..

Sometimes when I think of your name
when it’s only a game
and I need you
listen to the words that you say
it’s getting harder to stay
when I see you

All I needed was the love you gave
all I needed for another day
and all I ever knew
only you..

This is gonna take a long time
and I wonder what’s mine
can’t take no more
wonder if you’ll understand
it’s just the touch of your hand
behind the closed door

All I needed was the love you gave
all I needed for another day
and all I ever knew
only you..

All I needed was the love you gave
all I needed for another day
and all I ever knew
only you.

..credits to the flying pickets.

4 thoughts on “The Father’s Day

  1. erm…cherish him? since i was 7 years old, jumpa pon time raya / beli baju sekolah je. now lagi la…sibuk dgn cucu tiri. cucu sendiri pon tak ambik tau. call aku pon bukan nak tnya kabar, tapi sbb ada “orang” suruh tengok barang2 tu murah ke tak.

    he’s not that bad. after all, he is my father kan. tapi kena la caring sikit. pape pon, aku still hormat dia.

    sorry la…terdramatik pulak

Leave a Reply

