One Bowl

First of all – salute Malaysia for yet another World Top 10. Salute!

I often imagined myself being someone who is not me, being born in a different era and family or raised in a different atmosphere.

What would I do? How would I behave? Who would I become? Where would I be writing this from?

These thoughts, often appeared in my mind as I was witnessing something inspirational – say.. watching epic movies; BRAVEHEART for instance. I’d imagine me living in those years. Would I be following Sir William Wallace and his rebellious knights, or would I just succumb to the ever-corrupted lines of the Nobles?

Reading the sirahs of our Holy Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H) will also drag me into the same dilemma. Would I be strong enough to listen to their alienating preaches, or would I prefer a more common approach by going against them?

Let’s just make it simpler. What if Abah didn’t quit the airforce back in 1969 – where would we be living now? Or if Abah‘s company didn’t kiss the disastrous economic dunk-hole back in 1997 – would I still be working where i am today?

It’s just so out-of-this-world to think how beautifully designed our lives and the things in it has, have or had been. It’s also very unthinkable to even pick a guess on how far doing one thing in just one second might revolve another for million years to come.

Yes. Designers may do graphics, while architects do buildings. And writers like me, we do words.  All of these are just few minor things, performed to keep the world spinning. But this man? He does suicide in disguise, without even pausing a bit. While the whole world is getting occupied with all meaningless bull dunks, he just marches a step closer into death just to make sure everybody lives. Ironically enough, superbly no Superman he is.

It’s such a shameless shame to us, not having the same guts to perform the same thing; but keep acting like we’re better than good (and God). Keep pointing out which is wrong and which is right. At least those things we are throwing our shits on are done by the people who have the guts to execute them. While us? Rubbish!

It’s not that we aren’t able to do so, but it’s just that we choose to not to do it. Yupp, it’s sadly that simple. It’s all about how we opt to something, how we first decided to make a move on something. The essence of taking an option (or opting out, in this case) is all that matters.

We might always think that the road on which we are travelling is a bit less promising than the other one.. the one not taken. Always. But God knows what would happen if we did choose the latter.

All in all – life is not that long to only fill it up with regrets. So wake up yah. You opted for it, so just get a grip on your balls and live it.

We eat in one bowl, they say. Thus not sharing means starving. Period.

_______________________________

TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
and looked down one as far as I could
to where it bent in the undergrowth;
Then took the other, as just as fair,
and having perhaps the better claim,
because it was grassy and wanted wear;
though as for that the passing there
had worn them really about the same,
and both that morning equally lay
in leaves no step had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day!
yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.
I shall be telling this with a sigh
somewhere ages and ages hence:
two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
and that has made all the difference.

..credits to robert frost.

Leave a Reply

